Regional Development

Department of regional development (WA)

Department / July 23, 2017

The RDA programme in Western Australia brings together all levels of government to support the development of regional Australia. RDA Committees in Western Australia and are funded by the Australian Government and administered by the Australian Government Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development.

There are nine RDA Committees in Western Australia covering all areas of the state, and including one RDA committee for metropolitan Perth.

RDA Committees in Western Australia work in close collaboration with the Western Australian Government's Regional Development Commissions (RDCs), which share similar boundaries. Some RDA Committees and RDCs share office space and all work together to closely align their regional plans and priorities. Some RDA Committee members are also RDC members, enhancing cooperation and collaboration between these bodies.

In Western Australia RDA Committees:

  • are responsible for detailed regional plans that focus on the economic development of their region, taking into account relevant Commonwealth, state, territory and local government plans
  • provide independent advice to all three levels of Government on critical issues affecting their region
  • work closely with community leaders to identify funding sources and develop project proposals to support economic growth
  • provide assistance to local communities to develop project proposals to support economic growth, and
  • promote awareness of government programmes in the RDA community.

Some RDA Committees in Western Australia also deliver a range of services and programmes on behalf of other state and Australian Government departments.